I was asked to use Latex and I really put the effort to learn.  The font of the editor is so small so I decided to use ShareLatex because is web-based and I can enlarge the font.  Then my supervisor, “unintentionally” asked why are you using ShareLatex?  It is online and I should not share my thesis with anyone at all till finalisation.  I was being emotional that week because I saw a blind man with his dog going up the tram and when he went off the tram, as the tram moved away, I saw him trying to find the button of the traffic light.  After almost 10 years of knowing I have RP, I thought I have build up strength to “accept” my special condition, I have to admit, I can’t!  I am not living in denial, is just that is hard to “accept”.  Because I cannot “accept”, this post will be dedicated to software that can zoom in and will be updated over time.  I was in one of the conference on disability awareness, this guy that has prosthetic leg and goes out to teach bus drivers how to handle people with special needs while holding a full time job as a lecturer in Engineering school, proudly announced, we will be “disabled”, is just a matter of time!  I personally won’t go till that extreme, because I know older people, who still have good vision and able to handle a lot of everyday life chores well.  The key take away, developers out there, please remember, technology should be for everyone!  Build that Zoom In!

Latex Editor

Miji recommended me TeXStudio for Windows, easy adjustment to Zoom in

I myself explored TeXmaker for Ubuntu.  You need to Option->Configure!

ShareLatex – web-based

Text Editor

Microsoft Office – not limited to text processing

Web-Based

Control button follow by + button

My biggest headache now, Java IDE

